Theme Explorer

Page 1 of 20 354 Records Found

A Caution! Notice from the Enoch Wood Scrapbook

Dispute over ideas Printed notice from James Keeling regarding an infringment of patent on his oven for firing pottery. It is well known OUR PATENT It seems that someone has copied his oven design ...

A.P. Tiley, pharmacist and optician, Burslem

A.P. Tiley's pharmacist and opticians shop front at the Market Place, Burslem. The business was established in the 1850s. Image from 'Staffordshire Past and Present: An Historical Pictorial & Descriptive ...

Advertisement for C.W. Boast Ironmongers, Uttoxeter Road, Longton

Boast's ironmongers shop stood at 73 Uttoxeter Road, Longton and was run by Mr S. Hewitt. It was later demolished and incorporated in the Duchess China Works' building extensions. Earlier in the 20th ...

Advertisement for Frank Flint, Wine and Spirit Merchant, Victoria Buildings, Longton

Frank Flint was a wine and spirit merchant with a secure store at the rear of the shop premises in Victoria Buildings, Market Street, Longton. Stoneware flagons were made which contained the drinks sold ...

Advertisement for Frederick H. Burgess, Eccleshall

Advertising leaflet for Frederick H. Burgess, agricultural and horticultural ironmonger, of Stafford Street, Eccleshall. Printed by E.J. Hurlstone of Eccleshall. Frederick H. Burgess founded his ironmongers ...

Advertisement for Marson's Grocers, High House, Stafford,

Tea wrapper from William Marson's grocery business, established in the High House in 1827. The High House was built on Greengate Street by Richard Dorrington in 1595. The timber was said to have come ...

Advertisement for the Bath Hotel, Stafford,

Advertisement for the Baths Hotel on Greengate Street, built in the 1890s. Baths Hotel later became Seamus O' Donell's Irish Bar which closed 2001 and in 2012 is now called The Tavern. The photograph ...

Advertisement for the Crown Inn, Stafford,

Handmade advertisement for the Crown Inn on Queensville, and Warners home brewed ale. The Crown changed its name to the Spittal Brook in 1999. The original advertisement belongs to Mr A.A. Chatfield, ...

Advertisements for Longton shops and businesses

Advertisements for Brookfields Toyland, Longton garages Ltd., Simmonds jewellers and the Alexandra Theatre.

Advertisements of Longton and Burslem shops

Lloyds was a home furnishings store on two levels at 63 Market Street, Longton. Davision serviced televisions and radios at 71 Market Street, Longton. They also sold radios, televisions, tape recorders, ...

Advertising postcard, Wolseley Bridge

This postcard advertises Martin’s Patent Cultivators and shows a horse-drawn cultivator breaking up stubble. It was produced by Martin's Cultivator Co. of Stamford, Lincolnshire, manufacturers of agricultural ...

Alfred Edward Carter, Saddler, 42 Market Place, Uttoxeter

Advertisement for Alfred Edward Carter, saddler, harness maker and cab proprietor.

Alfred Parker, Chemist, High Street, Uttoxeter

Advertisement for Alfred Parker, manufacturing pharmacist, optician, dentist, and practical photographic chemist, 9 High Street, Uttoxeter.

Alton Towers, Novelty Postcard

This 'Moving Pictures' novelty postcard contains several views of Alton Towers, one of which, the "T" Room, is shown in the inset viewer on the left. The “T” Room forms part of a series of views that ...

Aston Garage, Aston-by-Stone

This vehicle advertisement for Aston Garage at Aston near Stone, features a Ford Prefect and a Ford Anglia and mentions other Ford models for their outstanding economy in the days of petrol rationing. This ...

Averil's Entry, Stafford,

Averil's Entry runs between Greengate Street and St. Mary's Grove. Originally the passage came out by Averil's chemist shop, a fifteenth century building which was demolished in the 1960s. The Grove ...

Backstamps of Longton Pottery Companies

A selection of backstamps of Longton pottery companies operating during the 20th century. Photographs of backstamps from ceramic items by Peter Landon. Collarge compiled by Bill Webster.

Bailey's Stores, Mill Street, Cannock

Bailey's grocery store with Roden's butchers next door. The buildings in this photograph were demolished in 1966 and the site now occupied by Tudor Employment. The white building on the right the other ...