Theme Explorer

Page 60 of 77 1386 Records Found

The Greyhound, Saverley Green

'The Greyhound' public house in Saverley Green, near Fulford, has been in existence since the early 1800s at least. It was once 'The Hare and Hounds'.

The Guildhall, Newcastle-under-Lyme

The Guildhall of Newcastle-under-Lyme has long history. Built in 1713 as a replacement to the original guildhall, the lower floor was used as an extension of the outside market and the upper floor was ...

The Hand and Cleaver Inn, Ranton

A multi-view postcard advertising the former Hand and Cleaver Inn at Ranton. On the reverse there is a map with directions to the Inn. At the time this postcard was published the proprietors were Mr and ...

The Hanging Bridge over the River Dove, Mayfield

A postcard view of the Hanging Bridge and weir on the River Dove at Mayfield, on the border between Staffordshire (left) and Derbyshire. The narrow 14th century packhorse bridge can be seen under later ...

The Heywood Memorial, Denstone

A postcard view taken in Denstone with the Heywood Memorial on the left and the building on College Road to the right is thought to be The Tavern public house. The Heywood Memorial is a sandstone memorial ...

The Holly Bush Inn, Brereton

Situated on Colliery Road, Brereton near Rugeley, this one time inn, dating from the 17th century, ceased trading in 1965 after the nearby Brereton Colliery had closed in 1960. It is referenced as "Holly ...

The Hollybush Inn, Brereton

This seventeenth century building stands on Colliery Road at Brereton Slade, near Rugeley. From around 1800 it had become the local public house, serving miners from nearby Brereton Collieries. When the ...

The Hollybush Inn, Brereton

This seventeenth century building stands on Colliery Road at Brereton Slade, near Rugeley. From around 1800 it had become the local public house, serving miners from nearby Brereton Collieries. When the ...

The Horse Shoe, Hilderstone

The house with the brown door in the centre of this row of cottages was once 'The Horse Shoe' public house.

The Hunt at Seisdon

The Albrighton Hunt Meet at the Seven Stars, Seisdon. The Seven Stars stands on the corner of Fox Road and Tinker's Castle Road. This building was demolished and a new pub was built by Ansell's ...

The Hunter, Saverley Green

'The Hunter' public house was formerly known as 'The New Inn' and stands on the outskirts of Saverley Green, near Fulford. It has been in existence since the early 1800s at least.

The Ironmarket, Newcastle-under-Lyme

Taken in 1920 this photograph shows the Ironmarket in Newcastle-under-Lyme. The busy street is awash with transport, from the old fashioned handcart on the right of the picture to the cars parked by the ...

The Izaak Walton Hotel, Ilam, near Dovedale

The hotel is situated close to the Staffordshire-Derbyshire border and was originally part of the Ilam Hall estate belonging to the Watts-Russell family. In 1875 the estate and its properties were sold ...

The Jolly Colliers' Inn, Loftus Street, Cobridge

Loftus street was one of a group of streets of terraced housing just to the west of York Street in Hanley. The houses have been demolished and the area cleared. Surrounding streets included Sydney Street, ...

The Jolly Potters, 296 Hartshill Road, Hartshill

This two storey public house was built between 1832 and 1878. It has a rear yard with old stables attached. Remembering the Jolly Potters Bernard remembers visiting The Jolly Potters pub: "That ...

The Jolly Sailor, Leek

The Jolly Sailor on Duke Street, known locally as the 'Jolly Bob'. Built originally as two houses, the pub has since closed and the building is two residences once more.

The Junction Inn, Norton Bridge

The Junction Inn and post office. The Inn was owned by Eley's Brewery of Stafford. The licencee was Tom Greaves at the time of the photograph. A 'Wells Series' postcard view published by E.J. Hurlstone ...

The Kings Arms, Stafford Street, Eccleshall

A postcard view of the King's Arms which was originally named The Unicorn. Its neo-Elizabethan timber framed facade covers the original Elizabethan structure. On the extreme right is Perry’s butchers ...