Theme Explorer

Page 6 of 23 399 Records Found

Engines, Dorman and Co. Ltd., Stafford

Founded by William Henry Dorman in 1870 on Foregate Street, Dorman's began by manufacturing cutting tools for the footwear industry, but soon began to produce more specialised machinery such as printing, ...

English Electric Co. staff, Stafford

3rd from left in the middle row is Charles Pearson. Siemens Bros. Electrical Engineering Works opened its Lichfield Road factory in 1903, after relocating from Woolwich with 800 of its employees. The ...

English Electric Bowls Club, Stafford

The Bowls Club formed part of the Social & Athletic Association (Social Club) at English Electric Co., Stafford. This photograph shows one of the Bowling Greens and the club building at Stychfields, adjacent ...

English Electric Co Glover Street, Stafford

Pictured is John Underhill by a mercury arc rectifier development anode at the High Voltage Test facility at Glover Street in Stafford. This Anode was to be used on the Nelson River DC Link in Canada. ...

English Electric Co. at Meaford Power Station

A visit by the English Electric Co. Stafford, Engineering Society, to Meaford Generating Station. The much smaller 'A' station opened in 1947 and ceased generation in 1974 and was demolished in 1982. 'B' ...

English Electric Co. Engineering Training Pieces, Stafford

Steel die holder tool made by Mr D.T. Greatorex at English Electric Co. Ltd. Training School, Stafford. The three screws seen in the photograph are used to clamp the die in place. Dies are used ...

English Electric Co. Home Guard Platoon, Stafford

Standing at the back, 5th from right (indicated by arrow) is Arthur Chatfield.

English Electric Co. Staff, Stafford,

Group portrait of the machine erecting staff, English Electric Co. In 1918 Siemen's engineering works merged with several companies, including Dick, Kerr and Co., Dorman's and Bagnall's to become the ...

English Electric Co. Stafford and Tanks

A “Cromwell” tank made by the English Electric Co. (identified by its number) on active service in France. During World War II, the English Electric Co. Ltd placed its accumulated experience and engineering ...

English Electric Co. Stafford and Tanks

A “Comet” tank outside the Armoured Vehicle Factory, undergoing its water test with other tanks of the same type in the background. The first “Comet” all-welded heavy cruiser tank was delivered in October ...

English Electric Co. Stafford and Tanks

The English Electric Co. commenced the manufacture of the all-welded “Comet” tank after receiving a contract for 200. The “Comet” a descendant of the “Cromwell” had heavier armour and a more powerful ...

English Electric Co. Stafford and Tanks

The English Electric Co. Armoured Vehicle Factory (Tank Factory) at Stafford after the completion of extensions. During World War II, the English Electric Co. Ltd placed its accumulated experience ...

English Electric Co. Stafford and the Ministry of Supply

English Electric staff and Ministry of Supply personnel are pictured during a visit to the Stafford Works. On the left: Mr J W C Milligan, Manager, Stafford Works, on the extreme right is thought to be ...

English Electric Co. Stafford Tanks on Cannock Chase

A “Covenanter” Tank being put through its paces on the testing ground on Cannock Chase. During World War II, the English Electric Co. Ltd placed its accumulated experience and engineering organisation ...

English Electric Co. Stafford Tanks on Cannock Chase

Pictured above is Brigadier-General G M Barnes, Assistant Chief of Ordinance, US Army with members of the Special American Mission accompanied by Major-General Crawford of the Ministry of Supply and British ...

English Electric Co., Hixon Works, Stafford

A general view of the Assembly Shop located in a former airfield hanger which became part of English Electric’s site on New Road, Hixon. In the photograph there are a number of current transformers ...

English Electric Co., Ltd. Stafford

Senior Managers, guests and employees are pictured at the Stafford Works during a presentation to Mr George Horatio Nelson, Esq. M.I.E.E. At a later date Mr Nelson became the 1st Lord Nelson of Stafford ...

English Electric Co., Stafford

Pictured is a 'shop floor’ area at the English Electric Co. Lichfield Road Site in Stafford. In the centre is a large stator frame partly assembled with a view of the copper windings. The Stafford Works ...