Description: Baswich Church features two large pews positioned high in the chancel, dating from 1812. The pews belonged to the Chetwynd family of Brocton Hall and the Levetts of Milford Hall; although both pews are of the same size their designs differ and the Chetwynd pew even boasts a fireplace.
Each pew was reached by a wooden staircase situated on either side of the chancel, accessed by exterior stone steps and a doorway at the foot of the Levett pew. This enabled the family to reach their seats without having to pass through the chancel.
Baswich Church is first mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086. The only surviving part of this early church is found in the north pillar of the chancel arch.
The church was rebuilt in 1407 and dedicated to the Holy Trinity, but burned down in 1738 leaving only the chancel and tower. The building was restored by Richard Trubshaw, the spire being replaced by a tower decorated with four Grecian-style urns and a weather vane.